Top Menu

Links

Sustainable and Resilient Living
Sustainable Fairfax http://www.sustainablefairfax.org/
Sustainable Novato http://www.sustainablenovato.org/
Sustainable San Rafael http://www.sustainablesanrafael.org/
Sustainable Sonoma http://www.sustainablesonoma.org/
Gallinas Watershed Council  http://www.gallinaswatershed.org/

Energy Independence
Marin Solar, http://www.marinsolar.org

Food
Marin Agricultural Land Trust, http://www.malt.org
Marin Open Garden Project, http://opengardenproject.blogspot.com/
Marin Organic, http://www.marinorganic.org
Novato Live Well Network, http://www.novatolivewell.org
Marin Food System Assessment Project: http://marinfoodsystem.wordpress.com/
EECoM, http://www.eecom.net/mfsp/

Global Warming
National Resource Defense Council Global Warming site,
www.nrdc.org/globalWarming/default.asp
EPA’s site, http://epa.gov/climatechange/index.html
Cities for Climate Protection: ICLEI, www.iclei.org
Sign a petition that gets sent to your legislator about climate change,
http://www.environmentaldefense.org/page.cfm?tagid=1344

Green Building
Andrés Edwards, author of “The Sustainability Revolution,” Green Building and Sustainability Education, http://www.edutracks.com/index.html
County of Marin Community Development Agency, http://www.co.marin.ca.us/depts/CD/Main/index.cfm
United States Green Building Council, Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED),
http://www.usgbc.org/DisplayPage.aspx?CategoryID=19
Build It Green,
http://www.builditgreen.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=greenpoint
Facts on Green Building, http://www.greenbuilding.com/fastFacts.html
16 Things You Can Do To Green Your Home

Toxics and Pollutants 
State of California Schools IPM, www.schoolipm.info
Marin Beyond Pesticides, www.pesticidefreezone.org
Marin County Storm water Pollution Prevention Program, www.mcstoppp.org
Pacific Northwest Coalition for Alternatives to Pesticides,
University of California IPM Online, www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/

Recycling
Material exchange cites:
http://marinmax.org/
ireuse.com
Casa Allegra Community Services provides employment for developmentally disabled: Recycle cell phones, fax machines, printers. Will pick up.www.casaallegra.org
Marin Computer Resource Center, http://www.mcrc.org/index.htm

Transportation
Marin County Bicycle Coalition, www.marinbike.org
Sonoma Marin Area Rapid Transit (SMART), www.sonomamarintrain.org
Transit Trip Planner, www.511.org
Discover more about your gas mileage, http://fueleconomy.gov/

Waste Management

County of Marin,  http://zerowastemarin.org/
Marin Sanitary Services http://marinsanitary.com
No Wetlands Landfill Expansion, http://www.protectourwetlands.org/
Novato Disposal, www.novatodisposal.com
Stop Junk mail links:
http://www.stopjunkmail.org/
http://www.41pounds.org/

Water
Bay institute www.bay.org
Gray2Green Landscape Watering Services  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gray2Green-Landscape-Watering
MMWD http://www.marinwater.org/
NMWD www.nmwd.com
www.tomalesbaywatershed.org

Your Foot Print 
Calculate your carbon impact
http://www.climatecrisis.net/takeaction/carboncalculator/
Measure your ecofootprint, http://www.earthday.net
Measure the nation’s ecofoot print, http://globalfootprint.org/
Marin Eco Footprint
Go zero, http://www.conservationfund.org/gozero

PDF’s of What You Can Do
Marin Unities PDF 
Santa Monica’s 10 things to do, http://www.smgov.net/epd/
50 ways to save the planet,
http://www.stopglobalwarming.org/sgw_read.asp?id=121544172006

 

Site design Bob Spofford